The Society is governed by a Council that is elected by the members at the Annual General Meeting.

President Dr Colin Podmore MBE (1st term: 2020-2025)
Vice-Chairman of the Council Mrs Anne Gray (2022-2026)
General Secretary The Revd Philip Corbett (1st term: 2021-2024)
Treasurer Mr Andrew Carter (2021-2024)
Elected The Revd Canon Robert Fayers (1st term: 2021-2024)
The Revd André Hart (2021-2024)
Mrs Vicky Cole (1st term: 2021-2024)

Mrs Anne Gray (1st term: 2022-2025)
The Revd Canon Geoffrey Harbord (1st term: 2022-2025)
Mrs Helen Sage (1st term: 2022-2025)

The Revd Prebendary Mark McIntyre (1st term: 2023-2026)
The Revd Kyle McNeil (1st term: 2023-2026)
Mrs Susan Way (1st term: 2023-2026)

Co-opted Mr Thomas Middleton (2023-2026)
Mr Edward Dobson (2021-2024)
[one further co-option possible]

The Council has power to elect up to five Vice-Presidents. The hold office for life and are not members of the Council. The Vice-Presidents are:

The Revd Paul Benfield
Prof. Ann Chippindale
Dr Brian Hanson CBE (President, 1999-2018)
The Rt Revd Martyn Jarrett
The Revd Canon Philip Ursell

The Society’s Constitution provides that the members of the Council are the Trustees of the Charity, but that the Society’s patronage and assets ‘shall for legal purposes be vested in four Holding Trustees’. These are: The President, The Vice-Chairman of the Council, The General Secretary, The Treasurer (all ex officio).

Dr Colin Podmore MBE

The Revd Philip Corbett
General Secretary